Skip navigation

Hair Loss Types and Pattern Baldness

Thinning hair and balding are common occurrences, but they don't appear the same way for everyone. Recognizing the type of hair loss you have is a first step to determining the right treatment plan—a Bosley Counselor can help you understand your hair loss. Study the illustrations and photos here to determine the classification of your hair loss. If you are experiencing hair thinning in the eyebrow area, Bosley also provides eyebrow transplantation procedures.

Male Baldness: The Norwood Scale

  • Class 1 represents a normal head of hair with no visible hair loss.
  • Class 2 is characterized by the beginning of a receding hairline and a "widow's peak" on the forehead.
  • Class 3 patients exhibit a more significant decline in hair above the temples as well as receding from the forehead. In Class 3 Vertex, hair loss is starting to become significant on the crown.
  • Class 4 hair loss may become more noticeable on the crown or patients may have significant hair loss above the temples and/or front anterior areas.
  • Class 5 hair loss approaches significant levels with most hair loss occurring on the top of the vertex and crown. Hair transplantation for this Class and higher Class levels may require more grafts to provide coverage and density.
  • Class 6 patients show major hair loss, but still have areas with donor hair available. Transplanting this hair can still have excellent results.
  • Class 7 patients show the most significant loss of hair. There may still be sufficient donor hair for transplantation; however, results may be limited.

Learn about Hair Restoration Options

Bookmark and Share